I tend to visualize things as I read them.  I recently read the portion of Jesus’ Sermon on the Mount where he discusses building on a solid rock foundation, and this is what I pictured.

24 “Anyone who listens to my teaching and follows it is wise, like a person who builds a house on solid rock. 25 Though the rain comes in torrents and the floodwaters rise and the winds beat against that house, it won’t collapse because it is built on bedrock. 

{visualize} standing on a rock – a HUGE rock, like a boulder, next to crashing waves.  Now picture the name “JESUS” painted so big on that rock that you can’t possibly miss the fact that Jesus is holding you up and your feet are firmly planted.

26 But anyone who hears my teaching and doesn’t obey it is foolish, like a person who builds a house on sand. 27 When the rains and floods come and the winds beat against that house, it will collapse with a mighty crash.”  Matthew 7:24-27

{visualize} standing on the sand next to the crashing waves at the beach.  An enormous wave breaks in front of you and it knocks you off your feet, sucking you under the water and tossing you to and fro.  It’s like you’re in a front loading washing machine with salt water, fish, sea weed, and … sand.

I don’t know about you, but I don’t particularly care for sand in my … well, everything… but particularly not in my mouth, or worse in my teeth.   It’s gritty, gross, and takes days to really get it all out.  While I had these (hopefully common, otherwise I’m just weird) visualizations it dawned on me how many “sand in my teeth” moments I have had over the years.

Photo courtesy of: http://mariannewildart.wordpress.com
Photo courtesy of: http://mariannewildart.wordpress.com

These moments occur when I screw up.  
Let’s just call it what it is.

These mishaps occur because I’m not standing on the rock that is Jesus … I’m strolling along the sand thinking it’s a solid rock, but knowing deep down I’m not really following Jesus’ instructions.  You know the feeling, right?  Like when you are judging someone and you know you shouldn’t be judging them so you tell yourself an absurd lie that somehow justifies your sin.  Yeah, like that.

Once a week, I will be sharing a “sand in my teeth” moment to show you that regular people screw up … often … but what sets us apart as Christians is that we learn from those mistakes by referencing instruction in scripture and we hopefully* don’t repeat them.

*Caution: if you’re expecting perfectionism from me, you’re reading the wrong blog.

Put your seat belts on, it’s about to get real up in here.

2 thoughts on “sand in my teeth

Leave a Reply

