Chronic pain feels like a broken record.  You know what’s coming.  But after the umpteenth time you’ve had to take a deep breath in hopes of relieving a muscle spasm … you’re so over it.

I ask God to relieve the pain in my wrists so I can walk through the grocery store with my hands on the cart instead of steering with my forearms.  I ask God to relieve the muscle spasms in my toes that make me walk funny.  I ask God to help me sit up straight and smile, even while the tears are stinging my eyes.  It hurts to sit up straight… but by the grace of God it doesn’t hurt to smile.

You might say, “Great verse, but it doesn’t answer my questions about why God isn’t answering my prayers!”

Are you sure?  I think it just might be answering one of my questions.  WHY ME?  Why am I going through this?  Why is this happening to me?  Why won’t you take my pain away like Jesus healed person after person after person?  I can’t work like I used to, serve like I used to, or DO like I used to!

I believe in this scripture, God is telling me He might not be taking away my pain for a reason.  He is growing my character.  He is growing me as His child, not as a mom or a wife or a friend or even as a ministry leader … He is focused on growing Ann.

It’s my job right now to shush-it, and listen.
It’s my job right now to read scripture.
To learn.  To pray.  To seek.
Because it’s already starting to happen.

He is already starting to use me.  He comforts me in ways I don’t even notice and I use those very things to comfort others.

I am sharing with those who are hurting.  He just might be expecting the same from you.  Maybe He is asking you to be brave, to be strong and courageous, to be faithful no matter what.  Maybe He is asking you to set aside the ways you used to do things and reinvent the wheel – maybe just maybe you were on a path that suited your needs but not His needs.

That’s what I believe for myself.
He is training me up in the way that HE wants me to go.

You better believe I’m not going to stop praying for God to take my pain, if it is His will.  One of my friends prayed for my salvation for SEVEN years, ya’ll.  SEVEN!  She was relentless.  And that’s how I want to be.  Not in a nagging sort of way, but in a way where I know that He is faithful and He loves me – and even if He doesn’t take my pain away, He always gives me SOMETHING.

A kiss on the forehead from my husband.
A text from that makes me laugh.
Encouragement that a choice I made or insight I shared actually made a difference.

After you pray, stop expecting instant answers – like instant oatmeal, it never quite turns out like you thought it would. God can see your entire future and for whatever reason, maybe it isn’t in your best interest to have a microwaved answer.

Leave a Reply

