I know there are a lot of people who are against medications and pharmaceutical companies… but I would just like to give a shout out to the makers of Mucinex.  Hopefully you can read between the sarcasm and see that is why I’ve been silent for the past several weeks.  I had every intention of posting the second portion of the waiting, waiting, waiting… and worn out  blog post,  but then my husband got pretty sick, right after an asthma episode with our son and all I could do to keep my head above the piles of tissues was this:

I do believe I have consumed more coffee in two weeks than I did in the previous month.  And I tried to smile through my fatigue and exhaustion.  And pray about the ER bills and the medications and the doctor visits and the Idon’twanttoknowhowmuchwespentatthegrocerystore bills.

My biggest lesson learned from this germ infestation is that I was NOT giving my husband enough props for the amount of things he does around here to keep Team Skaehill up and running.  And interestingly enough, about half way through his illness he said to me, “I don’t know how you do this all the time.  I’ve been achy and stuck in bed for about 3 days now and you do this EVERY day?!?!?  How do you do it?”

I think it’s pretty dang cool that God allowed us to see each other in a new light.  He has a new understanding of how big my every day hurdles can be, and I have a MUCH better appreciation of how much harder it would be to live this chronic illness life without a supportive and loving husband around to help carry the load.

Talk about THANKSgiving.

Sometimes we have to go through the storm and get to the other side before we can see our blessings.  What kinds of storms have you walked through that produced a new perspective on your blessings?

2 thoughts on “coming up to breathe

Leave a Reply

